16 C
Kuwait City
October 29, 2020
Home » IPL 2020: Royal Challengers win as Sunrisers falter chasing 163 – News

IPL 2020: Royal Challengers win as Sunrisers falter chasing 163 – News

Source link

Spinner Yuzvendra Chahal (3/18) and debutant Devdutt Padikkal (56) and AB de Villiers (51) came good as Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by 10 runs in the 13th Indian Premier League at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Monday.

After electing to bowl, Sunrisers bowlers managed to restrict Royal Challengers to 163 runs for the loss of five wickets, which at the end proved to be too much to chase on the Dubai pitch.

Eyeing 164 to win, Sunrisers were on the back foot as ever-dependable opener David Warner was run out in an unusual way. Jonny Bairstow smashed the delivery straight back to Yadav, who got a hand to the ball deflecting it to the wickets with Warner (6) out of the crease.

Manish Pandey, the new batsman, kept the momentum going by belting boundaries and a thunderous six to drive the score past 50 in seven overs.

But once spinners Chahal and Washington Sundar were introduced, they were able to plug the flow of runs. Desperate for a breakthrough, skipper Virat Kohli went back to Yadav but Bairstow plonked the pacer for a six and a four.

At the half-way mark, Sunrisers were at 78 runs, needing 86 more with nine wickets in hand. Royal Challengers didn’t get the rub of the green as Bairstow at 40 runs was dropped by Aaron Finch, then there was a missed stumping, and later a review was lost for caught behind.

And just when the chips were down, Chahal, the man with a golden arm, snared Pandey (34) to end a 71-run partnership and raise hopes for a revival.

But Bairstow was again dropped, this time, by Dale Steyn. The Englishman added salt to injury by smashing Yadav for a four to bring up his fifty. And again another catch wasn’t taken. However, Bairstow (61) couldn’t do further damage as he was bamboozled by a crafty Chahal.

Sunrisers were at 121 for the loss of three wickets after 15 overs. However, Bairstow’s wicket saw the start of a mini-collapse.

Chahal then trapped Vijay Shankar (0) with a googly. Soon Priyam Garg (12) departed and Abhishek Sharma (7) was run out. Navdeep Saini packed Bhuvneshwar Kumar (0) and Rashid Khan (6) while Dube returned to pick Mitchell Marsh (0). Steyn hit the final nail with the scalp of Sandeep Sharma (0) and Sunrisers ended their challenge in 19.4 overs. They added just 26 runs at the cost of eight wickets.

Earlier, Padikkal and de Villiers had smashed fine half-centuries to set a total of 163. Padikkal made a promising start to his IPL career by pummelling bowlers to all the areas of the park. Padikkal hit 50 from 36 balls and shared a 90-run partnership with opener Aaron Finch. The 20-year-old Keralite was helped by two generous dropped catches too.

But once Padikkal-Finch pair departed in quick successions, Sunrisers were able to stem the flow of boundaries. Kohli and de Villiers couldn’t score freely. Sunrisers’ pressure paid off as Kohli (14) was caught while trying to smash Natarajan. After a promising start and eyeing 180, RCB looked to settle for 150 runs. But in the final overs, an experienced de Villiers turned the tables with back-to-back sixes and a four to reach his 50 from 29 balls before being run out. Royal Challengers finished at 163 runs – at the end good enough total to secure first win of the UAE edition.



D Padikkal b Shankar 56

A Finch lbw b Abhishek 29 27 1 2 107.40

V Kohli c Rashid Khan b Natarajan 14

AB de Villiers run out 51

S Dube run out 7

JR Philippe not out 1

Extras: (lb 1, nb 2, w 2) 5

Total: (five wickets, 20 overs) 163

Fall of wickets: 1-90, 2-90, 3-123, 4-162, 5-163

Bowling: B Kumar 4-0-25-0; Sandeep Sharma 4-0-36-0; T Natarajan 4-0-34-1; MR Marsh 0.4-0-6-0; V Shankar 1.2-0-14-1; Rashid Khan 4-0-31-0; Abhishek Sharma 2-0-16-1


DA Warner run out 6

JM Bairstow b Chahal 61

MK Pandey c Saini b Chahal 34

PK Garg b Dube 12

V Shankar b Chahal 0

Abhishek Sharma run out 7

Rashid Khan b Saini 6

B Kumar b Saini 0

Sandeep Sharma c Kohli b Steyn 9

MR Marsh c Kohli b Dube 0

T Natarajan not out 3

Extras (b 5, lb 2, w 8) 15

Total (all out, 19.4 overs) 153

Fall of wickets: 1-18, 2-89, 3-121, 4-121, 5-129, 6-135, 7-141, 8-142, 9-143, 10-153.

Bowling: Steyn 3.4-0-33-1; Yadav 4-0-48-0; Saini 4-0-25-2; Sundar 1-0-7-0; Chahal 4-0-18-3; Dube 3-0-15-2.

Click here to read more news from @khaleejtimes

Related posts

World leaders to UN: If Covid-19 doesn’t kill us, climate change will – News


Combating coronavirus: Dubai-based charities distribute over 31,570 daily meals to underprivileged people – News


Air India Express crash: 4 kids among 18 deceased; victims identified – News


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Please spend a minute

Gulflance Poll

Which is worst social media?
Vote Now

You're currently offline