24 C
Kuwait City
October 22, 2020
Home » IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians sink Kings XI Punjab to go top – News

IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians sink Kings XI Punjab to go top – News

Source link

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma fired his second half-century of this IPL season as the defending champions bounced back from their Super Over defeat to the Royal Challengers Bangalore by seeing off Kings XI Punjab in Abu Dhabi on Thursday night.

Rohit, who had made a match-winning 80 against the Kolkata Knight Riders last week, scored his 38th IPL fifty as the Mumbai Indians won by 48 runs at the Zayed Cricket Stadium.

Set a stiff 192 for victory, Kings XI Punjab could only muster 143 for 8 in their 20 overs with southpaw Nicholas Pooran playing a lone hand of 44.

India’s best T20 bowler Jasprit Bumrah, leg spinner Rahul Chahar and James Pattinson picked up two wickets apiece.

Rohit’s 70 from 45 deliveries was peppered with eight boundaries and three sixes, as he brought up his 5000 runs in the IPL.

His knock came to an end when he was caught by a relay catch between Glenn Maxwell and James Neesham off Mohammed Shami.

The Mumbai Indians were well served by a 62-run stand for the third wicket between Rohit and Ishan Kishan and a 41-run partnership between Rohit and Kieron Pollard, for the fourth.

Pollard provided the late blitz, racing to an unbeaten 20-ball 47 with three boundaries and four sixes, pummelling Shami for those three fours and Krishnappa Gowtham for three of the sixes in the penultimate and last over, respectively.

Pollard and Hardik Pandya’s unbroken stand for the fifth wicket was worth 67 runs as the Mumbai Indians plundered 89 runs from the last five overs. Pandya finished on 30 not out from 11 balls with three fours and two sixes.

Kings XI Punjab were in a spot of bother in the chase despite opener Mayank Agarwal firing his way to an 18-ball 25 with three boundaries. After Agarwal was back in the dugout, bowled by Jasprit Bumrah, Karun Nair fell for nought, castled by Krunal Pandya.

With captain KL Rahul bowled by leg spinner Rahul Chahar, the three Karnataka batsmen were back with just 60 on the board.

Pooran and Glenn Maxwell put on 41 runs for the fourth wicket but the Mumbai Indians managed to make inroads to snuff out their chances.

Kings XI Punjab, playing for the first time in Abu Dhabi, had won the toss and Rahul opted to chase what the Mumbai Indians would come up with.

They made one change to the team that had done duty against the Rajasthan Royals with Krishnappa Gowtham replacing Murugan Ashwin.

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma kept faith in the same line-up and were unchanged.

They had a disastrous start losing opener Quniton de Kock for nought off the fifth ball of the match. West Indies pacer Sheldon Cottrell set up the southpaw by mixing up it with length, short of a length and full length before having him castled.

It was redemption of sorts for the left-arm pacer, who was taken to the cleaners by Rahul Tewatia in the previous match and there couldn’t have been a happier trademark salute.

At the other end, Sharma welcomed Mohammed Shami by creaming it through covers to bring up 5000 runs.

The Mumbaikar had to review in the same over to extend his stay after the umpire had given him out leg before. And it turned out to be a successful one as the HawkEye showed that the ball was missing leg stump.

Suryakumar Yadav cracked delicious boundaries off successive balls, driving those juicy half-volleys from Cottrell.

But Yadav was beaten by a direct hit from Shami from short fine leg and fielding coach Jonty Rhodes couldn’t have been more happier.

Kishan joined Rohit and the pair took the Mumbai Indians to 47 for two at the end of the powerplay.

Brief scores:

Mumbai Indians: 191-4 in 20 overs (Rohit Sharma 70, Kieron Pollard 47 not out, Hardik Pandya 30 not out, Ishan Kishan 28) beat Kings XI Punjab: 143-8 in 20 overs (Nicholas Pooran 44, Mayank Agarwal 25, Krishnappa Gowtham 22 not out, Jasprit Bumrah 2-18, Rahul Chahar 2-26, James Pattinson 2-26) by 48 runs.


Kings XI Punjab: KL Rahul (C) (wk), Mayank Agarwal, Glenn Maxwell, Nicholas Pooran, Karun Nair, James Neesham, Krishnappa Gowtham, Sarfaraz Khan, Mohammed Shami, Sheldon Cottrell, Ravi Bishnoi.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah.


Click here to read more news from @khaleejtimes

Related posts

Coronavirus: latest global developments – News


First kosher restaurant opens in UAE – News


UAE-Israel peace accord will benefit Palestinians, Al Hashimy insists – News


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Please spend a minute

Gulflance Poll

Which is worst social media?
Vote Now

You're currently offline